The consequences of a third driving while intoxicated offense can be detrimental to your career and family life. We recommend seeking a professional attorney to represent you in any proceeding that involves DWI charges, especially on your third offense.
If you are facing DWI charges, contact the Law Office of Charles F. Koehler, P.C. DWI attorney Charles Koehler focuses on personalized and comprehensive representation. Facing DWI charges isn't easy. You shouldn't have to do it alone. Contact Charles Koehler at 703-669-5644 for a free consultation.
In criminal court, a person faces criminal consequences. Criminal consequences include:
Virginia DWI laws are tough, and the criminal penalties for a third DWI within 10 years are severe. According to the Virginia Code $ 18.2-270, a third DWI within 10 years is a Class 6 felony. It is punishable by up to five years in prison and a minimum fine of $1,000.
There are two specific minimum jail requirements subject to the timing of the DWIs:
Virginia's Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP) is probation monitoring that includes a number of different features, such as:
The first potential area for a challenge is the stop of the car. Police generally must have a basis to stop a car. If there is no legally supportable basis for the stop, any subsequent evidence of criminal activity may be suppressed.
The collection of evidence in a DWI case must be done properly, otherwise the results can be inaccurate. If you have been charged with DWI you should contact an experienced criminal defense attorney to learn how to challenge the handling and accuracy of your breathalyzer or blood test results.
Blood, breath and urine testing rely on machines to provide accurate test results. These machines must be properly maintained and calibrated on a regular schedule to produce reliable BAC results. If they are not, the test results may not provide an accurate measure of impairment due to alcohol consumption.